Ringo Starr Live At The Greek Theatre 2019

Released on 25th November 2022 as a special RSD release in a variety of formats including Blu-Ray, DVD, CD and a double LP on yellow vinyl which is reviewed here.

Ringo has regularly released live recordings celabrating the various incarnations of his All-Starr Band and this recording from 2019 represented the 30th anniversary tour closing show of the first All-Starr Band.

After years perfecting a show format that offers a set list of banging tunes, performance turns by the various band members and a huge dollop of “Peace and Love” Ringo’s shows win on every level. The musicianship is a delight with the following band members contributing tight performances:

  • Ringo Starr [Drums / Vocals]
  • Gregg Bissonette [Drums]
  • Colin Hay [Guitar]
  • Steve Lukather [Guitar]
  • Hamish Stuart [Bass]
  • Gregg Rolie [Keyboard]
  • Warren Ham [Sax/Keys/Percussion]

Ringo is clearly the prime focus of the evening and his tunes form the majority of the set but the other songs are so warmly familiar that the level of enjoyment does not drop throughout the show. Testament to the long recording career that Ringo has had there are sooo many other songs from the Starr catalogue that I’d welcome to sit alongside this set. While I respect the show format and song selections it would also be great to hear some other songs from Ringo’s expansive career “Goodnight Vienna”, “Weight Of The World”, “Wrack My Brain” and “Back Off Boogaloo” to name a few.


  • Matchbox
  • It Don’t Come Easy
  • What Goes On
  • Evil Ways
  • Rosanna
  • Pick Up The Pieces
  • Down Under
  • Boys
  • Pass Me By
  • Yellow Submarine
  • Cut The Cake
  • Black Magic Woman
  • You’re Sixteen
  • Anthem
  • Overkill
  • Africa
  • Oye Como Va
  • I Wanna Be Your Man
  • Who Can It Be Now?
  • Hold The Line
  • Photograph
  • Act Naturally
  • Help From My Friends

As a traditionalist I’m not sure I like the abbreviation of some notable songs above. It is quite amazing that Ringo maintains such a high energy level and quality for his shows and while he may receive some technological assistance vocally this does not overtly compromise the enjoyment we can get from this recording. Some nice packaging and a striking yellow vinyl pressing make this a welcome addition to the Ringo catalogue.

By Gwyn Jenkins.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s